Lawrence County Peer Leadership Recognition Banquet


On May 2, 2017, Lawrence County Peer Leadership, a program of the Human Services Center, celebrated its annual Peer Leadership Recognition Banquet. This event marked twenty-one years of the Lawrence County Peer Leadership Program and over one thousand students that have been trained. The event was held at The Villa Banquet Center. Daniel Barnes, Director of Lawrence County Peer Leadership and Director of the Human Services Center Student Assistance Program (SAP), served as the moderator for this celebration. Seventy-three sophomore students from all of the Lawrence County schools districts were recognized for their service to their schools and community. Each of these students participated in three days of training this past school year. The training was designed to educate the students in the qualities of leadership, empathy for others, communication, and multi-cultural awareness. Students were then challenged to “make a difference” in their homes, schools, and communities. Students also learned to identify problems and pursue solutions to the issues that challenge teenagers today. At the banquet, selected students from each of the Lawrence County schools, were asked to speak about “What it means to be a Peer Leader,” an important highlight of the evening.


The Human Services Center has provided the administration and coordination of this program since 1995. A dedicated staff from Lawrence County Drug and Alcohol Commission and Cray Youth and Family Services, work with this program as well. Back in their schools, these peer leaders collaborate with others already trained, also members of a Peer Leadership Club. Each club has committed advisors who provide them guidance and help coordinate activities that benefit the Lawrence County community. Below is a list of the 2016/2017 Peer Leaders and Advisors that were recognized at this banquet.


Lawrence County Peer Leaders

Laurel High School – Michele McClelland, Advisor
Juliana Cooper*Autumn O’NeillJack Rogan
Scott HardyBrianna ReeherJesse Wright
Abigail McCosby  
Lawrence Co. Career & Technical Center – Donna Pasterik, Advisors
Trevor Cunningham*Riley LeonardSkylar Schultz
*Rachel DuffyRich NesbitMax Strobel
Alexis HeraldJoey PletzJulia Williams
Lincoln High School – Laura Adams, Advisor
Cami CortezAnnie Macom*Alex Scott
Tyler CunninghamTara MarshMadeline Spadafore
Chloe Küffer  
Mohawk High School – Ryan Castor, Advisor
Tiffany BromleyMolly FitzsimmonsSamantha Huston
Frank ContiMorgan GleghornJessica Matsukas
*Madyson Dailey  
Neshannock High School – Ned Yahn, Advisor
Emily AllshouseTori Gouza*Shenley Wish
Adrienne AnzaloneHannah LashAlly Zarilla
Mia Greco  
New Castle High School – Becky Saymansky, Advisor
*Evan BrownMatthew GibsonNick Papa
Shenango High School – Kim Rudesill & Debbie Grego, Advisors
Zoey Angelucci*Sam MiloserHallee Sipe
Anna BuppPaige SeitamDelaney Zarone
Joey Doughty  
Union High School – James Dotson, Advisor
*Kylee Chrastina*Shae-Lynn QuinnLindsey Wheaton
Miguel JosephMercedes ShanerIsabella Williams
*Audrey Monstwil  
Wilmington High School – Brandon Phillian, Advisor
Aleah DealTage KelliherRaleigh Shimrack
*Grace FerrellAlex RamirezSierra Twigg
Jessica Huff  



Scroll to Top