Lawrence County Peer Leadership

On May 14, 2018, Lawrence County Peer Leadership, a program of the Human Services Center, celebrated its annual Peer Leadership Recognition Banquet. This event marked twenty-two years of the Lawrence County Peer Leadership Program and over one thousand students that have been trained. The event was held at The Villa Banquet Center. Daniel Barnes, Director of Lawrence County Peer Leadership and Director of the Human Services Center Student Assistance Program (SAP), served as the moderator for this celebration. Megan Bliss played the violin before dinner. Megan is the daughter of Terry Bliss of HSC’s Student Assistance Program. Sixty-four sophomore students from various Lawrence County schools districts were recognized for their service to
their schools and community. Each of these students participated in three days of training this past school year. The training was designed to educate the students in the qualities of leadership, empathy for others, communication, and multi-cultural awareness. Students were then challenged to “make a difference” in their homes, schools, and communities. Students also learned to identify problems and pursue solutions to the issues that challenge teenagers today. At the banquet, selected students from each of the Lawrence County schools, were asked to speak about “What it means to be a Peer Leader,” an important highlight of the evening. The Human Services Center has provided the administration and coordination of this program since 1995. A dedicated staff from Lawrence County Drug and Alcohol Commission and Cray Youth and Family Services, work with this program as well. Back at their schools, these peer leaders collaborate with others already trained, also members of a Peer Leadership Club. Each club has committed advisors who provide them guidance and help coordinate activities that benefit the Lawrence County community.

Peer Leaders 2017/2018 *Speakers
Laurel High School – Michele McClelland, Advisor
Brent Bergbauer *Olivia Kohen Joseph Paglia
Daniel Blank Grace Enscoe Mikyla Slater

Lawrence Co. Career & Technical Center – Donna Pasterik, Advisor
Josephine Beier Kasiah Gilmore *Nick Neupauer
Janice Bowers Candace Hammond Nathan Smith
Katie Dillen *Amelia Hogue Trenton Yale
Aaron Dilling

Lincoln High School – Laura Adams, Advisor
Carson Aiken Saylee Grinnen Colin Smith
Skyler Campbell *Gracie Kauffman Levi Smith
Avery Dudek Hannah Keally Angela Volpe
Morgan Falesnik

Mohawk High School – Ryan Castor, Advisor
Raegen Esenwein Taylor Harman Ronnie Shirilla
*Natalie Grim
Angelique Lindsay Leah Stroebel

New Castle High School – Rebecca Saymansky, Advisor
Braeden Bailey Liam Frost Marissa Polding
Matt Ball Jewel Kneram Taylor Tanner
Jade Bodie *Rachel Lloyd Juleeann Viggiano
Austin Browne Kerrionna Lyles TeAsia Stewart
Tyler Francis Aleah Nelson

Shenango High School – Kim Rudesill, Debbie Grego, Advisors
Harrison Miller Alexis Presjnar Jordan Smith
Gianna Orrico *Cambyl Schry Serena Sokolowski

Union High School – James Dotson, Advisor
Tyler Benedict Vinny Fuleno Nicholas Pasquarello
*Lexi Bucker
Nate Meeks Christian Pasquarello

Wilmington High School – Brandon Phillian, Advisor
Shane Cox Austin Lisowski David Patton
Jason Hess Hannah Lockhart *Marcus Tokar
Leah Hickman

Scroll to Top